Rwanda lost 3 – 0 to Uganda cranes during the 2018 Total CHAN first leg qualifier at the St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende.

Uganda Cranes preached how they wouldn’t rest until Rwanda falls hence silenced and surely Mid-fielder Muzamil Mutyaba initiated the success and Derrick Nsibambi completed it.

A first half penalty given by the Burundian referee Pacifique Ndabihawenimana due to bad tackle Rwandese defender Aimable Nsabimana had on Nsibambi saw Mutyaba gave the home side the first lead at the 14th minute.

Rwanda witnessed Mutyaba double Cranes’ lead just 11 minutes after wards before Nsibambi himself buried the Amavubi Stars with the third goal at the 51st minute.

Speaking to the press after his first victory, interim coach Moses Basena believes his side had the ability to score more goals nevertheless was thankful for the final results.

“We have been lucky to get this result but this win is like a halftime lead, because we have to play a second half in Kigali. It was a game where we should have scored more three goals, but let’s go with that.”  Said Basena.

Meanwhile the Coach for Rwanda found something to excuse themselves as he diplomatically blamed the referee for poor officiating.

“I would like to congratulate Uganda for their win; I can’t blame my players for such a defeat. I think Ugandans were organized but on the other note, the Referee was not on our side too.” Said Antoine Hey.

Rwanda now has to struggle to score four or more goals in the return leg at Kigali regional stadium this coming Saturday in order to earn the right to feature in the finals in Kenya early next year.

Line up

Uganda Cranes Starting XI: Ismael Watenga, Nico Wakiro Wadada, Isaac Muleme, Paul Musamali, Savio Kabugo, Bernard Muwanga, Milton Karisa, Moses Waiswa, Derrick Nsibambi, Muzamiru Mutyaba, Shafiq Kagimu

Subs: Benjamin Ochan, Rashid Toha, Deus Bukenya, Erisa Ssekisambu, Paul Mucureezi, Tom Masiko, Muhammed Shaban

Rwanda Starting XI: Marcel Nzarora, Djihad Bizimana, Aimable Rucogoza, Thierry Manzi, Aimable Nsabimana, Emmanuel Imanishimwe, Eric Iradukunda, Olivier Niyonzima, Yannick Mukunzi, Barnabe Mubumbyi, Dominique Savio Nshuti

Subs: Yves Kimenyi, Soter Kayumba, Latif Bishira, Jean Marie Vianney Muvandimwe, Kevin Muhire, Abeddy Biramahire, Amran Nshimiyimana

Photo Credit: FUFA Media