Bainomugisha is confirmed to be the tactician to coach Western Uganda side that will host the Cranes in the next fixture of Cranes Na Mutima tour.

This confirmation was made by the region’s FA GS, Olivia Mugisha. According to Olivia, Bainomugisha will kick start residential training with the team nine days from now.

The Western Region Football Association is excited and ready to host the national team, Uganda Cranes. We have already started initial preparations to make the tour a complete success” Quoted Mugisha.

Based on information from FUFA website, history has it that Western Uganda happens to be the first region to have hosted the first ever regional tour dubbed ‘Cranes Na Mutima’ which took place at Kakyeka Stadium in Mbarara district.

The Cranes recent domestic fixture was against Kitara region in which they won 3 – 1 at the Buhinga Stadium in Fort Portal, they return to the same region but different location.

Mugisha explained that, the region starts training on 3rd July with 22 players and add 6 more other players ahead of the match on 6th July at Kabale Municipal Stadium 3:30 p.m.

According to FUFA the tour that commenced in 2014 is meant to bring the national team closer to the locals other than locals following the team to Mandela National Stadium.

Coupled with the advantage of influencing support for the national team besides preparing the players for greater challenges, FUFA finds it necessary for the cranes to participate in it.

Summoned Western Region players:                                                                 

GoalKeepers: Sula Kibalama Sula (Sharp Fc), Dennis Otim (Mbarara)

Defenders:  Johnson Turinawe (Sharp), Zaid Byekwaso (Nyamityobora), Umar Kato (Rushere), Bruce Rubanja (Creamland), Bashir Babu (Mbarara), Cleophas Fiat (Sharp)

Midfielders:  Matovu Mohammed (Welden), Micheal Muhangi (Mbarara), Tor Kondok (Red Army), Alex Mandela (Sharp), Alex Twinamatsiko (Rukungiri United), Jumma Sadam (Creamland), Abraham Barack (Ntoda), Brian Owomugisha (Ntoda)

Strikers: Ismail Luyombya (Rushere), Nasir Sadam (Mbarara), Hassan Kakuru (Amama), Micheal Baseme (Rukungiri United), Dickens Ainebyoona (Sharp), Bashir Segujja (Mbarara City)